Not In Your Pajamas!

Sitting at your computer, with your faithful cup of ’joe’ at your side, you begin your workday. You check your e-mails and decide which ones require your immediate attention, which ones you can delete, and which ones you need to ‘mark as unread’ so you won’t forget to check them later. Your attention turns to the project you began yesterday and immediately you become involved and focused on completing it before lunch time. The doorbell rings…your UPS delivery waits on the other side of your front door. You get up to answer it, when you realize you are still in your pajamas!

A home-based business. One of the advantages of working from your home is that you don’t need to ‘dress’ for the traditional office. You are free to choose whatever outfit you feel comfortable in to complete the tasks to manage your business. Terri Libenson, author of the popular comic strip, The Pajama Diaries, illustrated the “Popular Work-At-Home Uniforms” recently. Such a playful way to show home-business attire!

Not In Your Pajamas!
Popular Work-At-Home Uniforms

There are so many individuals that operate small home-based businesses. A few positive advantages of working at home:

  • You can be a bit more relaxed in your home environment.
  • You save fuel costs and the hassles of peak traffic congestion.
  • You can set your own time schedules, within limits.
  • You are your own boss!

Many of us already know some of the disadvantages of having your own home business. I won’t discuss those at this time; I want to focus on more positive issues today!

I would love to stay in my pajamas all day; they are so comfortable. Slippers, or better yet no shoes, are much easier on my feet than high heels! However, I feel that in order to get me in the mood to conduct a business, I must dress the part. Most people feel better when they look better, so I feel that if I am dressed I have a more professional attitude and conduct myself in a more business-like manner. (I still don’t wear shoes, but I am out of my pajamas!) I feel more productive when I am dressed for the part, even if I take a break from creating a handmade greeting card or working at my computer to throw in a load of laundry!

When my doorbell rings at 2:00pm, I don’t have to tell the UPS delivery person that I am ‘under the weather’ because I am still in my pajamas! What about you? How do you dress for your home-based business? I would love to hear your thoughts on how you get yourself into the working mode!

Thanks for reading!
Vickie Horsfall

Special Thanks to Terri Libenson for granting me permission to use her comic ‘Popular Work-At-Home Uniforms’

Leave a Reply

