Falling For Fall

When I was younger, my favorite season was summer. It was a time when school was the last thing on my mind and I could roam the neighborhood and play with my friends. (Now they call it hanging out, or chillin’ with friends.) I grew up in Fresno, one of hottest summer cities in central California. The daily temperatures, in the 90’s and often over 100 degrees, didn’t seem to bother me. I just went about my fun summer activities, paying no attention to the heat.

Well, many things have changed since those carefree summer days. I now live in northern California, where the temperatures still get a bit toasty, but the evenings usually cool down thanks to the Delta breezes! (Getting older has given me a more limited tolerance for the heat.) Now I find that Fall is my favorite season.

Our Mighty Oak Tree

I look out through the breezes at the leaves gently falling from the many trees that surround our home. We happen to have a very old oak tree in our front yard. (A few arborists have estimated it to be 200-300 years old!) It is a magnificent tree and one of the reasons we decided to purchase our home. Our two sons were young at the time, and they wanted this tree! (We later found out the tree is protected, so a tree house was not going to happen.)

Many migrating birds stop by our mighty oak tree for a rest before beginning their journey to warmer climates in the winter.  I don’t know much about birds, but I do enjoy hearing them chirp and watching them as they flutter from branch to branch.   It is such a peaceful time to watch these feathery friends.

Wonderful view from our backyard!

 
 
Winter and Spring are also nice, but these days I find myself really enjoying the Fall months.  I don’t think I am alone in finding that my favorite season has changed over time.  What is your favorite season today?  Has it changed from when you were younger?  I would love to hear your comments!

Thanks for reading!   ~~Vickie Horsfall

Leave a Reply

