Handmade Cards with Layered Stamps

When I create a handmade card, I like to add a bit of layering with papers and embellishments. (I don’t add too many layers as the ‘bulk’ would require extra postage if the card is mailed.) I have learned that layering images of stamps is a perfect way to add dimension and some fun to cards.

I stamped this little snowman from Imaginisce on the paper I will use for my card. I think he is adorable; they have such cute stamps. I decided to color his ‘carrot’ nose, and outline his body with a glittery pen – including the buttons, eyes, nose, and smile!

handmade Christmas card with snowman
Stamp the hat and scarf on special paper
Handmade snowman Christmas card
Put a bit of glue on hat and scarf of snowman

The hat and scarf on this little guy are perfect to ‘highlight’ with layered paper. I used light blue sparkly paper for the background of this card, so I decided to use the same paper to make the hat and scarf. Stamp another image of the hat and scarf on a scrap of the blue paper. (Here’s another way to use your scraps of papers!) Carefully cut the hat and scarf out, leaving the black edges visible.

I put a few tiny dots of white glue on the snowman’s hat and scarf area on the stamp, then carefully placed the cutouts of the sparkly hat and scarf over the glue. (Tweezers really help!) Make sure you position them so they line up with the original snowman stamp on your card paper. Don’t press them down too much, the glue will dry and they will be slightly elevated.

Handmade Christmas card with snowman
Attach embossed paper to base, add strips of adhesive to oval die-cut

I cut a piece of cardstock slightly smaller than the card, then embossed it with my Cuttlebug tiny dots folder. It looks like small snowflakes. (I also have a ‘snowflakes’ embossing folder, but I think the snowflakes were a bit big for this little snowman.)

Strips of ‘Miracle Tape’ on the back of the oval die-cut of sparkly blue paper secure it to the card. I ‘popped’ the scalloped snowman over the blue paper. I punched a few snowflakes from scraps of photo paper I had – it has a glossy look that I like for snowflakes! A tiny, shiny sticker in the middle of the snowflakes make them sparkle! The stamped greeting ‘Winter Wishes’ is set over the sparkly blue paper and completes the front of this fun card! I also like to use the sticker greetings.

Handmade Christmas card with snowman
I used a ‘Season’s Greetings’ sticker on this card.

This little snowman is one of my favorites, and I have made several cards that feature him. These cards can be used for a thank you, a simple note card, or for Christmas and holiday cards. Today, many people wait until after Christmas has passed and send out New Year’s Cards instead of Christmas cards. What a great little snowman to receive to bring a smile to the beginning of a New Year!

Christmas Snowman handmade card
Snowman Winter Wishes Card

Thank you for visiting my blog. This is such a fun technique that I learned and I hope you will try it too!

I would love to hear from you! It is always fun to create and share ideas!

~~Vickie

9 thoughts on “Handmade Cards with Layered Stamps

    1. Adrienne, When I make a card I usually make two that are the same, making sure I have the papers to make more if the card is popular. Yes, I do make these for Christmas cards; to sell and give to my family and friends. It is a lot of work, but I certainly enjoy doing it. Especially at Christmas, when cards
      are extra important! Thank you so much for the nice compliment! Enjoy your day! ~~Vickie

    1. Thank you for the nice compliment. It took me about 20 minutes to design this card. The next one I made took about 10 minutes. I would love to see what you make using this technique! Thanks for following my blog ! Enjoy your day, Vickie

Leave a Reply

