How to Make a Ladybug!

 

Every few months I attend a card-making class taught by a very talented lady, Sharon D. She always comes up with so many creative ideas that are so inspiring. Today, I would like to share a card I made from an idea I got from her. (I wish she would get a website so I could link to her!…hint, hint, Sharon!)

handmade card with polka dot ladybug
This is the cute card Sharon designed and I made in her class!

Sharon usually has so many pieces prepared for the cards we make, so I am not sure how she made her ladybug. (I think it was a stamp that she hand-cut for us.) Anyway, since I am one to use the supplies I already have on hand, I decided to make my little insect from ovals and circles.

I cut an oval using a Spellbinders die cut; the one I used is almost 3″ long. I cut a portion from one end to use as my ladybug body. I punched a circle from the other end to make my ladybug’s head. (Do you see what I saw from the punched piece? I will blog about that a bit later!)

Oval die-cut to make ladybug body and head
I used an oval die-cut, then cut off one end to use for my ladybug body!

Sharon used a special button machine to make her ladybug head, but I just used a circle punch with small stickers for the eyes. I used some waxed twine as the antennas…aren’t they cute!

handmade ladybug card, with antenna and sparkly eyes
I put tiny stickers for my ladybug’s eyes and waxed twine for her antennas!

This card was so fun to make and it is also another way to use those extra, pretty paper scraps! The pink and black colors make this card ‘pop’, and I love the polka dots! (Thanks for this cute card idea Sharon!)

handmade card with ladybut, have a great day greeting
This is the ladybug card I made with my ovals and circles!

What wonderful, creative ideas do you have for using ovals and circles?

What do you see in my circle-punched polka dot paper scrap?

 

 

Have a fantastic day in your creative world! ~Vickie Polka Dot flowers thank you card

8 thoughts on “How to Make a Ladybug!

  1. Anonymous

    VICKI, THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE NICE COMMENTS ABOUT MY WORK AND CLASSES. LOVE SEEING WHAT YOU DO WITH THE IDEAS YOU COME AWAY WITH.

    HUGS, SHARON

Leave a Reply

