Cards for College

When my eldest son left for college in 2007, I made him several handmade cards to let him know I was thinking of him. (College students love to receive ‘real’ mail in their mailboxes!) I was so touched to find that he had saved every one of them and brought them home when he returned after completing his first year. I thought I would share a few of the cards I sent him.

These cards acknowledged some important events in his life, including his acceptance into his fraternity and holidays. Some were sent to encourage him, and a couple included a note to ‘feel better’ when he was a bit under the weather. (The google eyes on the ‘Feel Better’ duck card are a bit out of balance, but I think the cards are still looking good after surviving the dorm life an entire year!)

Handmade Cards sent to college student
Some of the cards I sent my son when he left for college.

 

One of my favorite cards included several quarters for him to use on the metro lines in San Francisco. (To my surprise, he never took the quarters off of the card.) I won’t tell you how much it cost to mail this card, but it was worth it!
 

handmade card with map of San Francisco
I thought a map of San Francisco would help him navigate his new City!

 
handmade card with quarters and map of San Francisco
I included quarters to use for the Metro Lines in San Francisco.

I loved creating and sending these cards to my son. He is out of college now, but I still send him cards to let him know I am thinking of him. My youngest son is in his junior year of college, so he also gets cards in his mail! My sons have been the driving force behind me creating HorseMark Cards. When I look at these cards, I realize how much I have learned and how my card creations have changed. My husband and I are so fortunate that both of our sons keep in touch with us from San Francisco and Santa Cruz. I love the phone calls, text messages, e-mails, and Skype we use to communicate, but sending handmade cards will always be my extra special way to keep in touch with them.

Thanks for stopping by and indulging me in a bit of my ‘mom’ memories. Enjoy your day! ~Vickie

2 thoughts on “Cards for College

Leave a Reply

