Good to the Last Drop!

 

I know this post is a far cry from showing techniques for making handmade greeting cards or other creative projects, but sometimes our creativity can take us in a different direction!

When you look at the labels of products, the amount listed is not always what you get to use. There is always a certain amount of product that stays in the bottle or tube that we can’t use. I don’t know about you, but since I paid for all of it, I want to use all of it! Most of us like to use all of the products we purchase.

tubes of lotions, using all the product from lotion tubes
I like buying lotions tubes as I can use all of the product!

I like to purchase lotions that are packaged in tubes. They are usually ‘richer’ and very moisturizing. (Dry skin is not my friend!) ‘Tubed’ products are also easier to pack when traveling…how many times have you tried to push the pump down on bottled products so it would not leak? Anyway, I have found a simple way to use all of the lotion that comes in the tubes. No matter how many times you ‘squeeze’ the tube, there is so much product that sticks to the sides of the tube. I can use that on my elbows!

cut lotion tube in half to use all of product
Cut tube in half, use fingers to get product from top half of tube

When the tube of lotion is almost empty, with the lid off, carefully squeeze as much of the lotion to the bottom of the tube. Put the lid back on the tube. Take a pair of scissors and cut the tube in half.

tubes of lotions, using all the product from lotion tubes
There is still so much lotion left in the tube.

You will be amazed at how much lotion is still in the top half of the tube! I usually take my fingers and get this lotion from the top of the tube and either use it or put it in the bottom half of the tube to use later.

cut lotion tube in half to use all of product
Put top half of tube over bottom half to keep it from drying out.

Once I have the top half free of lotion, I simply slip the top tube over the bottom tube. It will not dry out and I will be able to use the rest of the lotion that is still in the bottom of the tube. Of course, you can use this idea on most products that are packaged in tubes. (I would not recommend using this for glue, for obvious reasons!)

Would you use this technique for using every last drop of lotions you buy?

Enjoy your creative day!

~Vickie

handmade card with little girl in robe
Thank You for visiting my blog!

 
HorseMark HandMade Cards

2 thoughts on “Good to the Last Drop!

Leave a Reply

