Making Paper Purses!

 

An idea came to me in April when I posted a way to make a cute ladybug to put on a card I made. I used an oval die cut and cut a portion of it to make my ladybug body. Since I don’t like to waste papers ( especially printed papers) I punched a circle from the other half of the oval to make my ladybug’s head. Well, as often happens with many of us, I looked at the piece of paper after I punched the circle and saw something else! A purse! (How many of you saw it too?)

using ovals to make paper purses
When I made this ladybug card, I saw something special in the leftover scrap!
making paper purses from oval die cuts and label die cut papers
These are just two ways to make paper purses.

Many ideas from talented people are shared these days. Pinterest, Facebook, blogs and online magazines are just a few of the places we can find interesting things to make. Some of us take these ideas and add our own embellishments to make them our own. Shared ideas can become original!

I believe I discovered this next idea to make a paper purse on Pinterest. I used a die cut from Spellbinders to make mine. (This was my polka dot day, as you can tell from the paper I used.). I simply cut the label, folded it in half. I used a bow brad on the polka dot purse for a different latch. A couple pieces of baker’s twine around the bottom of the purse added some dimension and matched the strap.

handmade card with paper purses and shoes
The top purse was made from my ladybug scrap paper!
using baker's twine and brads to make paper purses
I added some baker’s twine and a little brad to make this little purse!

I made another clutch purse from half of the label die. (I chose to cut this label in half instead of folding it, as the paper was thick.) I folded the bottom about 1/4″, trimmed the tiny corners, and added another sparkly dot sticker for the latch. I decided to add a strap made with some sparkly baker’s twine.

using label diecut to make paper clutch purse
Cut the paper in half and fold bottom section under about 1/4 inch.
purse clutch made with label die cut paper
I love this little paper purse clutch!

I attached these purses on a birthday card I made for my very dear friend. Whenever we go shopping, she heads straight for the purse section!

handmade card with paper purses
I made a special birthday card for a friend! She loves purses!
making paper purses from oval die cuts
This purse was made by folding an oval piece of paper!

I decided a birthday card would be fun, with a pocket inside for a gift card so a special gal could shop for a new purse, and shoes!

handmade card with paper purses and shoes
This is my favorite purse. I love polka dots!
handmade card with paper purses and shoes and gift card pocket
Add a gift card and and the birthday gal is ready to shop!

This is also a great way to use paper scraps, since they are small if you put them on a card. Embossed colored cardstock would also make a cute purse!

These purses were fun to make and I hope you enjoyed reading about how I made them. What are your ideas on making little purses from paper?

Enjoy your Creative Day!

~~ Vickie

girl holding 'thanks' sign, with flower
Thank you for visiting my blog!
9 thoughts on “Making Paper Purses!

Leave a Reply

