Stamping Flowers on Quilting Fabric!

 
Finally, I am able to follow up on one of the ‘sneak peeks‘ I teased you with a couple of weeks ago!

We recently had two of our nephews get married a couple of weeks apart! It was so exciting to be with them to celebrate these very special events. Now that the couples are married and have received their gifts, I can finally reveal the projects I have been working on the past several weeks!

First, I will start with the special wedding card I made for Dustin and his new bride, Shelby!

I decided to use the fabric from the quilt I made them for their wedding card. (I used the wedding announcement and made it into a wedding card for our other nephew, Andrew. You can see that post here.)

First, I ironed on some facing to the back of the fabrics. I used Pellon 906F, since I had some of it leftover from another project. (Next time I stamp fabric, I will use a heavier facing.)

making wedding cards with stamped flowers on fabric
I ironed facing to the back of my quilt fabric. It made it easier to stamp and cut out the flowers.

I used Staz-On Timber Brown ink instead of Jet Black to stamp the flowers on the fabric, as I wanted a softer look to the flowers.

making wedding cards with stamped flowers on fabric
I used Staz-On ink to stamp the flowers on my fabric, then hand-cut them with very sharp scissors!

I used very sharp scissors to cut the flowers out, leaving the stamped edges of the flowers intact. I decided to cut the centers of a couple of flowers out to add some contrast to the finished flowers. Once the contrasting centers were placed on the flowers, I added a clear bubble embellishment to the center. (I used Scotch Quick-Dry Adhesive…the best!)

making wedding cards with stamped flowers on fabric
I used very sharp scissors to cut the center from one of the flowers.

I used pastel orange/salmon/coral colored card stock for the card base, then added a white embossed layer. I used a Crafty Lounge stamp for the sentiment, then attached the fabric flowers. This is the finished card, that I hope Shelby and Dustin will appreciate!

wedding card made from quilt fabric & flowers
I used the wedding quilt fabric to make flowers for this card.

I added a special message for our nephew and his new bride to the inside of the card. (To prevent the card from being too bulky, I just added a fabric flower to the inside, with no ‘bubble’ center.)

wedding card with flowers made from quilt fabric
I attached a fabric flower on the inside of this card, along with the embossed background with a special message.

Dustin and Shelby opened a decorated gift box to find this card inside, along with a quilt I made for them with fabrics that have a story behind them. (I gave you a sneak peek a few weeks ago, you can see it here.) I will post about this special quilt soon!

Have you stamped on fabric before to make something creative? I would love to hear your comments on your creations!

Enjoy your Creative Day!

~~~ Vickie

card with tulips and ribbons
I appreciate you visiting my blog! Enjoy your creative day!
12 thoughts on “Stamping Flowers on Quilting Fabric!

  1. Jeanne

    Love the card, and thank you for the lovely comment on my blog. This is beautiful and love the colors you chose *smiles*

  2. Highest quality and cutest card we received for our wedding by Horsemark Handmade Cards! Nothing beats any product handmade and Vickie, you obviously spent plenty of time on your product which is so impressive! The card felt like a gift itself, even before opening the handmade quilt which matched! Thanks again!!

Leave a Reply

