Specials: Awards and Cards

AWARDS

Since I began my blog, I have ‘met’ so many wonderful people in the blogging world and have learned so much from them. They have shared many ideas and their creativity is very inspiring! One of those special people is Katherine, from Pillows A-La-Mode. She was one of my first followers and is so kind to take the time to leave encouraging comments on many of my posts. She recently sponsored The Good Neighbor Award. This award demonstrates how she continually creates a link to so many other creative bloggers and expands the circle of friends in our community. Thank You Katherine! I was pleasantly surprised to find my name on the list of blogs that had been nominated for this award!

award for blogging
This award is sponsored by Pillows-A-La-Mode!

I want to thank the generous blogger for submitting a wonderful comment to nominate me! I was already following many of the nominated bloggers and found others that I added to my list! There are so many fantastic ideas you can read about and learn from these ‘good neighbor’ bloggers! (Congratulations to Crafty Staci on receiving the most nominations and a very special gift!) Please take the time to visit these blogs, and don’t forget to leave a comment! It means so much to have someone take the time to visit and comment on a blog; it really encourages us for the time and effort we put into our blogs!

CARDS

I would like to share a couple of cards I made that had interesting themes. I received a request to make a thank you card that had a ‘poultry’ theme. Well, it’s not everyday one receives such a request. I immediately searched through my stamps and papers to get ideas on how I would create this custom card. I found some barn themed stamps that I have had for a few years…..perfect! It included three chicken stamps, which I used to design this fun card. Since I am a fan of polka dots, and since most chicken themed items seem to have polka dots in them, this paper seemed perfect! I thought the little chickens were so cute by themselves, but after I added the little dots of chicken feed they really came alive! I just mailed this card yesterday and can’t wait for the feedback!

thank you card with chickens
I love the chicken feed dots on this fun Thank You card!

“Are you able to make a Danish themed thank you card?” Well, this second request was a first too! I must admit that I had to do a bit of research to find information on Denmark. My only personal reference was the adorable little town of Solvang in southern California. I knew this card had to include a windmill! My google search led me to the flag of Denmark, which is white and red. Now I had a color scheme to design this thank you card. I love how the black border complements the black & white windmill.

Danish themed card with windmill and flag
A Danish themed Thank You Card! I love windmills!

It is exciting to receive special requests for themed cards. It challenges me to come up with different ideas, plus I learn things I would not have known! Now I would love to travel to Denmark! I already knew about chickens, but it was still fun to make the card!

I hope you enjoy your creative day, and don’t forget to check out the other bloggers that received nominations for The Good Neighbor Award!

~ Vickie

Squirrel thank you card
I appreciate you stopping by for a visit!
13 thoughts on “Specials: Awards and Cards

  1. Your cards are so beautiful. I’m first time on your blog, but from now I will be frequent visitor πŸ™‚
    You may remember my blog ‘Craftabuloso’ as I see your Gravatar in my community section. Hope you enjoy what I’m doing there and we can become craft-friends in this big blogosphere πŸ™‚
    Best
    Brejniak
    Join me if you want on my fresh profile on fb: http://www.facebook.com/Craftabuloso

    1. Thank you for the kind comment! I visited your blog and love the little hearts you made for the Children’s Hospice charity. So generous of you. It is nice to have another crafting friend in the blogging world! Enjoy your day! ~Vickie

Leave a Reply

