Recycled Thank You Cards

We all have special people in our lives that we exchange birthday or Christmas gifts with. This Christmas I received wonderful gifts wrapped in very pretty papers and ribbons. Well, you know me. I was not going to toss these nice gift wrappings away. I was going to give them new life!

A monkey bread pan and baking mix was wrapped in this snowflake foil paper I received from a friend. I knew right away that I would recycle this paper to make her thank you card.

snowflake foil giftwrap thank you card
A gift I received was wrapped in this snowflake foil paper.

I cut out a piece of the foil paper to cover the front of the card. The silver snowflake die cut has been in my stash for awhile, so I was happy to use it to add some dimension to the card. I also added tiny silver sticker dots, which were blue in the center and added a bit more sparkle! I outlined the edges of the paper with a small strip of silver stickers, and popped a “Thank You” stamped greeting to complete the front of this handmade thank you card.

handmade thank you card made from recycled Christmas gift wrap
Thank you card made from recycled Christmas gift wrap.

When I finished the outside of the card, I remembered a Clear Dollar Stamp I have of this cute little monkey. It was perfect! It added a bit of playfulness and tied in with the monkey bread gift kit, even though it was a stark contrast to the front of the card. I colored the stamp in shades of blues to keep the color scheme of the handmade card.

monkey stamp for thank you card
This monkey stamp was perfect for the inside of a thank you card!

I hope my friends appreciate seeing a part of their gift recycled and returned to them in a creative way. When I include the gift wrap or ribbon on the thank you cards I send them, it lets them know how much I appreciate their thoughtfulness and friendship. I also feel better recycling wonderful papers and ribbons!

Thanks for stopping by my blog for a visit! I would love to hear your comments on how you recycle papers in your craft projects!

Enjoy your Creative Time!

~~~Vickie

Handmade thank you card with buttons
I appreciate you visiting my blog! Enjoy your day!

8 thoughts on “Recycled Thank You Cards

  1. I was given some lovely stamps for Christmas. I really liked the idea of having the greeting stamp like “thank you” or perhaps “happy birthday”. I intend to look for some at our haberdashery store. Your recycled cards are stunning! I have always made cards but never used stamps before and I love trying new things! 🙂

    1. You should have lots of fun creating items with your new stamps! You might like a ‘Thinking of You’ or ‘Just a Note’ stamp too; I use mine a lot. I hope you post some pictures of your cards with your stamped greeting! Enjoy your creative time and thanks so much for your comments! ~ Vickie

Leave a Reply

