Yikes! Am I Vintage?

‘Vintage’, when used as an adjective, means “Denoting something of high quality, especially something from the past or characteristic of the best period of a person’s work” (according to The Oxford Dictionary). I like this definition! The word ‘vintage’ usually refers to the quality of fine wines. I like those too! But, for my purposes, I am using vintage as ‘old’ 🙂

Since carbon paper is a dated object, and the era of home economics classes is gone, and I was a part of this, I must be vintage too!

vintage sewing items, Marking fabric with colored carbon paper with a tracing tool!
Marking fabric with colored carbon paper with a tracing wheel! Good ‘ole days!

I remember using the colored ‘carbon’ paper to mark fabric when I used to sew my own clothes. Do you remember using the tracing tool? The picture above is the actual package and tool I used in my junior high school home economics class (they call them middle schools these days). For my younger readers, home economic classes taught you how to sew, cook, iron, and do many other domestic household chores! Sadly, these courses have not been offered in schools for several years (to my knowledge); budget cuts and possible lack of interest of students. 😦

Since I have not sewn garments in several years, I am assuming this method of marking is no longer used. I have seen the sewing gauges though, at a much higher price than I paid for mine! I still use this handy tool!

I was consolidating my sewing box with notions from my late mom and grandmother’s sewing boxes a few months ago, and found several ‘treasures’. (I shared the old spools of threads I found on a previous post.)

old spools of threads, vintage sewing supplies
Old spools of threads I found in my mom’s sewing box. You can’t buy a spool of thread for 15 cents these days!

It was interesting to notice the prices on these old spools of threads. The amount of thread you could purchase for 15 cents then would cost at least $2.50 today! Today’s spools are certainly not made of wood either. I guess that is part of the charm of these old threads. Don’t you just love the wooden spools? I know there are lots of projects that I can find to use these. Here is a great idea for making a wreath from old spools of threads from Mrs. Hughes blog. (She has a wonderful blog about retro sewing, DIY and other interesting items. Certainly worth a visit!)

Several packets of sewing needles were included in my grandmother’s sewing box. I love the way they are packaged! They had a sense of ‘style’ to them.

vintage sewing needles in packages
I love the way sewing needles were packaged in the good ‘ole days!

Here are two of the packages as seen from the outside. The designs are priceless and I love the package from England!

vintage sewing needles and package
A sewing needles package from years past.
vintage sewing needles from Engand
Vintage package of sewing needles from England.

I was surprised to find a little round, zippered box. I had not seen this before, but I could tell it had been around for a very long time.

vintage sewing kit with zipper
This little vintage sewing kit has a zipper around it!

inside vintage sewing kit
I found little treasures inside this vintage sewing kit!

I wanted to share these sewing items of past years with you and I hope you enjoyed looking at them. What ‘vintage’ sewing items do you still own?

~ Vickie

thank you card with strawberry, red ribbon,
Thank you for visiting my blog!
18 thoughts on “Yikes! Am I Vintage?

  1. I too am “vintage” because I have some old sewing books, spools and patterns as well, that I keep meaning to post on my blog. In middle and high school it’s now called “Consumer Science” but as an elective so not many students choose the class. I taught my sons how to thread a needle and sew a hem and buttons, it is a dying art, but everyone should know how to do it – after all – duct tape doesn’t work on everything! Have a wonderful weekend!

    1. I am glad to hear they still teach home economics (aka Consumer Science), no matter what they call it. Hopefully some students may take the class, perhaps thinking it could be an easy ‘A’, but they will come away knowing so many skills they will keep forever. I also taught my two sons how to sew a button and iron, which they do today! You’re so right…you can only do so much with duct tape! Thanks for stopping by! Enjoy your weekend too! 🙂

  2. My 13 year old son has a subject called “food tech” where they learn to cook and another subject where they learn sewing called “textiles”. very heartening! I love looking at retro sewing things and i personally have a retro sewing basket. I think I am retro too!

    1. It is so wonderful to hear that ‘food tech’ and ‘textile’ classes are teaching the basic home economics ideas to our young ciizens. It is so very important. It is nice to have fellow retro blogging friends! Thanks for your visit!

    1. So good to know I have so many vintage and creative blogging friends! It’s hard to believe you struggled in your home ec class, when I see so many wonderful handmade items on your blog! It is also good to hear that Irish secondary schools sill think home ec is still important. I appreciate your visit and comments!

  3. I recognize a lot of these vintage items that my mother had and I used to use them too! She was a brilliant seamstress and sewed all of my dresses when I was a child and her own clothes too. I took Home Economics all the way up to grade 12 so along with my Mom’s tutoring and these classes I became a bit of a sewer too. Once I had children I stopped because there just wasn’t time. It is called ‘Fashion Class’ now in school here. What a fun post!

    1. Thanks Thea. My mom could really get the most out of a sewing machine too! I am fortunate that her teachings and my home economics class taught me so many things too. Good to hear that ‘Fashion Class’ is still teaching important skills. So glad you enjoyed my post. Enjoy your day!

    1. That is so cool that you use the tracing paper and wheel! I guess I need to take a trip down the sewing notions aisle and see what else is still being used! I also love those needles…so personalized for you! Thanks for taking the time to comment! Enjoy your day!

    1. Good to know tracing wheels are still around! I wish I had a vintage Singer Sewing Machine. Several of my friends do, and they love them. I visited your blog and it is wonderful! Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a nice comment. Enjoy your creative day!

  4. Vickie, this post brought back so many wonderful memories I had forgotten about. I am vintage too since I took home economics and sewing in junior high school. I’m sure those classes gave me my foundation although, at the time, we were for some reason a bit embarrassed to be seen in the classes. Even though I still sew a bit now, I never feel comfortable using a tracing wheel. and I still have an old package of needles from my mom that must be over seventy years old. Thanks so much for visiting my post on pop up cards. You are an expert at cardmaking and I feel almost mortified that you took the time to give me a very thoughtful comment.

    1. First off, my apologies for not responding sooner to your comment. I just realized it was hung up in my spam folder. 😦 Anyway, I am so glad good memories were brought to you from my vintage blog. I enjoyed visiting your blog and your pop-up cards. Thank you for stopping by and leaving such a wonderful comment! Enjoy your creative and Purple day!

Leave a Reply

