Why I Cut Up Wedding Invitations!

YES! I have been so busy cutting up wedding invitations! It seems that love is certainly in the air and couples are ready to celebrate a very special union…their marriage! Four wedding invitations have arrived at the HorseMark Cards Creative Haven in the past three weeks! I have taken those invitations and created custom wedding cards for the happy couples. That is why I love to cut up wedding invitations and I would like to share one with you today!

When I received this wedding announcement, I knew immediately what I wanted to do with it! It was printed on nice ivory paper with lots of text, but also had blank space and embossed borders.

wedding invitations become wedding cards, re-purpose cards
This wedding announcement was used to create a wedding card!

Flowers are a symbol of marriage, so I knew I should create some from this invitation. Using my flower die-cut from the Di-namics line at My Favorite Things, I decided to cut the flowers, flower centers, and leaves from the announcement. I hand-cut the stems from the edges of the invitation. Bits of the text on the flower petals added a subtle hint of the announcement and hopefully will put a smile on the newlyweds’ faces!

Here is a a close up of the flowers I created.

die-cut flowers from wedding announcement, re-purpose cards
I cut flowers from the wedding announcement to create this card!

Very few handmade cards I create are blank inside. I feel that some decoration is important, so I also created another flower to put on the inside of this card. I stamped the message on some ivory card stock and trimmed the two corners to match the front corners of the card front.

making wedding cards, wedding invitations, re-purposing
The flower was cut from the wedding announcement!

Printed wedding paper in soft, ivory colors provided the background for the card. I decided to hand-cut the names to attach on the front instead of using another die-cut. I felt it added a bit more flair and matched the curves of the flowers.

A ‘Congratulations’ stamp in the matching font was stamped on the border and hand-cut to match the names. I just added golden, sparkly stickers to the centers of the flowers and accented two corners with a few more.

I used another die-cut from the Di-namics collection to use as my ‘vase’, which I decided to ‘pop’ to add more dimension to the card. I also curled the leaves a bit, which also added some elevation to the card.

wedding cards, wedding announcements, re-purpose cards
Wedding card created from wedding invitation!

Creating this custom wedding card was so enjoyable for me. I love the challenge of taking an announcement and turning it into a very personal card. If you missed my post last year, you can see a wedding card I made for my nephew and his wife! I will share the other wedding cards I have made from invitations soon! (I also received a high school graduation announcement which I made into a card! More on that creation later!)

If you receive a wedding announcement I would love to create a wedding card from it for you and the couple! You will certainly present the ultimate, personal wedding card to the couple!
Just contact me at horsemarkcards@gmail.com and I can give you more information!

Enjoy your Creative Day!

~ Vickie

card with flowers, embossed swirls

8 thoughts on “Why I Cut Up Wedding Invitations!

Leave a Reply

