Groovy 1970’s Wedding Card!

Here’s something Far Out…BAM…Bad…and Boss! Can you Dig it?

These are some slang terms used in the 1970’s, which was the theme for this wedding invitation I received from a customer. She wanted me to create a wedding card from it. I am excited to finally share the card I designed, since the wedding was this past weekend.

This is the fun and creative invitation I received.

making a wedding invitation into a wedding card
This fun wedding invitation will become a wedding card!

Naturally, I wanted to keep with the 1970’s theme. Bright colors were in order, and flowers of course! I had to use the peace sign too!

Here is the inside of the card I created from this invitation.

wedding card, themed wedding card, 1970 weddings
This is the inside of a wedding card I created from the invitation!

I knew ‘groovy’ was going to be part of this card, and somehow ‘Far Out‘ managed to be typed on my keyboard when this message was created. I couldn’t resist! I used an old die-cut from my Cuttlebug collection to make the brightly colored flowers. The centers of the flowers are accented with tiny sequins and circle stickers. The ‘peace’ sign and flower portion of the announcement was cut and used as a vase for the flower!

I tried to match the font they used for the inside message, but I kept it black instead of blue. I thought it added a bit of contrast to the colors. The corners are punched with a small flower and accented with tiny sticker centers.

This is the front of the wedding card the couple received on their special day!

wedding cards, re-purpose papers, repurpose cards, custom wedding cards
This 1970’s themed card was made from the wedding invitation!

I used their names from the announcement and popped it over a die-cut label, which also served as a ‘vase’ for the flowers. The green leaves were made from a Stampin’Up! punch. When I create cards I usually don’t rely on so many punches or die-cuts, but this was an exception. I think it worked.

Once again, I managed to include a tiny butterfly on a card! I put my well used die-cut from Di-namics over shiny silver card stock, since I wanted the little butterfly to twinkle and add some contrast to the card. (I may have to change my HorseMark Cards logo to include a butterfly!) My aunt had sent me several packages of confetti, which included orange ‘Congrats’, which I thought went well with this theme.

Since this invitation was so creative and clever, I figured the wedding was just as fantastic! I can only imagine what the reception was like, especially since the guests were asked to wear 1970’s style clothing! Congratulations to the groovy couple!

For my younger readers, (or some of my older readers that may have forgotten, for various reasons 🙂 ) Far Out, BAM, Bad and Boss were terms used to mean cool or awesome in today’s language!

‘Can you dig it?’ Understand?

 

Enjoy your creative day! ~ Vickie ~

thank you card, flower die cuts,

One thought on “Groovy 1970’s Wedding Card!

Leave a Reply

