It’s Ok to Color Outside the Lines!

When a child first begins to experiment with crayons, they scribble on any image in a coloring book, (or a wall in the house!) Yikes! As they develop better motor skills, they are taught to ‘color inside the lines.’ That coloring technique was the ‘golden’ (or whatever color) rule of coloring. Well, today I am going to break that rule!

I was asked to make a birthday card for a little boy about to celebrate his 5th birthday. I decided that some little animal or other critter could hold five balloons, with different messages on each balloon. I began to browse through my crafting papers and found printed paper with cute monkeys on it. It seemed so perfect, since the monkey’s arms were in a good position for holding the strings of the balloons.

monkey paper, making handmade cards, birthday card for 5 year old boy,
This fun monkey paper was perfect for my card!

Since the front of the card would have 5 balloons and a cute little monkey, I decided the background of the card had to be simple. I found some striped paper with the same colors as the monkey.

I used my printer to make various messages for the balloons and printed them on white card stock. I took my balloon stamp and centered it over each message and stamped it on the paper. Putting white balloons on the front would be a better contrast than making colored balloons. I did want a ‘hint’ of color though, and this is where I broke the rule of coloring. I colored ‘outside’ the lines of the balloons!

handmade cards with balloons, cutting balloons
Coloring outside the lines of the balloons, then cutting them adds some color!

Once I colored the balloons (I used colored pencils), I decided they needed some sparkle. After all, we all know that monkeys love things that sparkle!

I added sparkle gel pen over the colors, then cut the balloons leaving a margin of the colors around the edges. This gave me just enough color, yet the balloons were still popping off the background paper. I also added foam squares to the balloons, which gave the card more dimension.

birthday cards with ballons, monkey holding balloons
Adding a hint of color around the balloons still allowed them to pop!

Another little monkey held a balloon I made using the Inky Antics HoneyPop honeycomb paper and balloon stamp. I couldn’t resist adding the message, “Today is a day to monkey around and have lots of fun!” to the inside of this little boy’s birthday card. I cut out the bigger monkey face from the paper and attached it to the back of the card to add a bit more ‘monkeying around’ fun!

monkey holding balloon on boys handmade birthday card
This is the perfect monkey to hold a birthday balloon!

I enjoy making cards for little ones and had fun with this monkey and balloons card. I hope when little Bennett sees it he will like the monkey and balloons, and perhaps he may act like a monkey for a moment or two! I do know little ones love to see their names on things, and I hope he likes his special balloons! Happy Birthday Bennett!

Thank you for stopping by my blog for a visit, and I hope you enjoyed this card I created.

Enjoy your Creative Day!

~ Vickie ~

handmade birthday card with bear and balloons

I shared this post on the Think Pink Sundays link! Lots of great things!

2 thoughts on “It’s Ok to Color Outside the Lines!

Leave a Reply

