Extra Labels? See How I Used Them!

There are several packets of various labels tucked away in my computer work unit. These labels are used so infrequently, except the address labels I use to mail cards to my customers. 🙂 I can’t toss these abandoned labels, it goes against my motto of ‘I may be able use it someday!’ Well, that ‘someday’ has arrived!

I have labels that are the type you print on your computer and attach to CDs or DVDs. My husband used these to record theater productions and events at our sons’ high school. Since they graduated in 2007 and 2010, these left-over labels ended up in my supplies stash. These are great labels as they are circular in shape and have lots of white space on them. I found a great use for these, and other labels!

Many printed papers I use in creating my cards are not card stock weight. There are so many different and fun images on these papers that are perfect to cut out and use. They are too fragile to pop on my cards, so I simply adhere the image to a label and ‘fussy’ cut it. The label adds enough weight to attach foam squares so it can be popped to add some dimension to the card.

using labels, repurposing labels

I like to cut images from the printed papers, add foam squares, and attach them over the exact image to add elevation to the card. This is an example of a Father’s Day card I created, using the tie image. I used an Art Impressions ‘Shake Your Booty’ stamp on the inside so it wiggles!

Father's day card, how to use 'wobbles', making cards that wiggle

Another example of attaching labels to the back of a printed image is this cute sock monkey from the Recollections ‘Monkeying Around’ collection. I received a request for a custom card for a little boy celebrating his 5th birthday. I knew this little monkey would need to hold 5 paper balloons, so he needed to have additional weight. Adding the label to him before I cut him out gave his little arms the strength needed so he could hold the birthday balloons. You can see the card I created with this little monkey here.

handmade cards for kids, using labels, monkey on card

Do you have labels that are not used? How do you use them? I would love to hear your ideas and suggestions, or any comments you may have! Hearing from my readers is so encouraging!

Thanks for stopping by my little creative corner.

~ Vickie ~

Thank you card with little bird and polka dot ribbon

8 thoughts on “Extra Labels? See How I Used Them!

  1. Great ideas and I must share something with you. My son just had his 14th birthday and his friend made a fabulous birthday card decorated with manga characters. My son pronounced it “awesome” and has kept it on display. 🙂

Leave a Reply

