Fall is Here! You Need a ScareCrow!


YES! There is finally a chill in the air, at least in the mornings! Hopefully the weather will be cooler during the days too, and perhaps some much needed rain will follow! Pumpkins, recipes using pumpkin, autumn wreaths and other fall-related items can be found everywhere on blogs, Pinterest, Facebook, and so many other internet sites. (Visit Time with Thea for her wonderful ideas!) I love it all!

Today I am going to share another fall related item….a Scarecrow!

One of my favorite stamps I purchased from Craft Lounge, before they went out of business 😦 about two years ago, was a cute scarecrow. It made me happy just to look at him! I thought he would be perfect to feature today. I would like to share a card I created using this cute stamp and one of my favorite techniques – layering!

how to make a scarecrow card, layering cards, coloring  a scarecrow, making a card for autumn
These are the first 4 steps I used to create a cute scarecrow card!

Once I stamped my scarecrow on white card stock, I used my pencils to give him some color. I always color my stamps when I intend to add a layer over them – they look better from a slight angle when the colors match. When I took this picture, I wasn’t sure what color shirt I would use, so it was not yet colored.

I stamped another image of the scarecrow’s head and colored it the same as the entire image. (There are two stamped, one was a bit too close to the edge….my bad!) I stamped both sides of the shirt on a scrap of tiny reddish polka dot paper. When I cut these images, I made sure to cut outside the lines of the image. It looks better once you layer it. This is also a great way to use up little scraps of your papers!

how to make a scarecrow card using layers and baker's twine, created by HorseMark Cards
I added layers to my scarecrow and prepared the embossed base with baker’s twine.

I attached the polka dot shirt with Miracle Tape as I didn’t want it elevated. Foam squares were used to attach his head over the image; he seemed to come alive with this added dimension! Since I love polka dots and wanted to complement his shirt, I embossed the base of the card with polka dots. Using Miracle Tape (my favorite adhesive), I attached a small piece in the corner of my base to adhere the baker’s twine that I wrapped around to make a border.

Now for the fun part! The details! I decided he needed to be nestled in a bed of straw grass and have a couple of birds around him. I added him to the base of my card and he was ready to make anyone smile!

Scarecrow card with birds, grass, using bakers twine, fall cards created by HorseMark Cards
This adorable scarecrow is ready to make anyone smile!

This card can be created for a note of thanks or even a fall birthday! I can see this adorable scarecrow holding some balloons! He can be nested in a fall arrangement, perhaps next to those little pumpkins! (I always seem to think of scarecrows as male, don’t know why!) My mind is so busy with ideas on how to use this cute scarecrow stamp! What would you do with him?

You know I will be creating more cards with this cute stamp! Remember, I can also customize this scarecrow for you! Contact me at horsemarkcards@gmail.com and you can have your own scarecrow card in a few days!

Thank you for stopping by for a visit! I look forward to your comments! Enjoy your creative day! ~ Vickie

card with squirrel holding acorns, thank you card for autumn
Thank You for Visiting HorseMark Cards

2 thoughts on “Fall is Here! You Need a ScareCrow!

Leave a Reply

