RePurposing Items to Create Cards!

We received two phone books in the last few days. I guess some people still use these, but I usually just toss them into our recycling bin. I decided to keep these, thinking I could use them in some way. Perhaps I could create a card! 🙂

Since I didn’t want the complete names and numbers of people to be shown, I decided to use a flower die that was thin enough to only reveal parts of the information. The flowers on these cards were created using a die from Elizbeth Craft Designs. I stamped the leaves and stem and cut them to finish the flower. I even used the ‘yellow pages’ to design my flower!

repurposing phone book pages to make cards, created by HorseMark Cards
The flowers are cut from pages from a phone book!

My family loves attending live theater, especially musicals. We received a flyer in the mail announcing that “Hamilton, the Musical” was going to be in San Francisco! I immediately knew what I would do with it!

Since the flyer was printed on sturdy card stock (and clean!), it was perfect to use to create a card.

Hamilton, musical, Father's Day Card created by HorseMark Cards
I repurposed the flyer for ‘Hamilton, the Musical’ to create this Father’s Day Card!

Since my husband is such a big fan of the broadway musical, “Hamilton”, I knew I had to create this card for his special day! When I gave it to him, he reminded me that Alexander Hamilton was one of our founding fathers. That made it appropriate for a Father’s Day card!

hamilton themed fathers day card

I still have several traditional papers in my craft room to design many more cards, but I like the idea of repurposing some items that add different elements.

Catalogs, magazines, and printed photographs can also be repurposed to create new items. I know many of you have used different things when you create your projects! It does add variety to our designs!

Thank you for visiting my blog today! I hope you like my ideas and are inspired to create something different!

Enjoy your creative day ~~ Vickie

2 thoughts on “RePurposing Items to Create Cards!

Leave a Reply

