Chinese Wedding Invitation & Card


When I received this wedding invitation in the mail and opened it I was so excited! My mind began to swirl with so many ideas on how to use these special papers to create a custom wedding card for the happy couple.

Chinese Wedding Invitation

Red and golds are frequently used in Chinese weddings as they represent happiness, good fortune, success, honor, wealth, and joy. The dragon represents the groom, while the phoenix represents the bride. Symbols are very important in Chinese culture. The symbol on the front of the invitation is a wish for ‘double happiness’ to the newlyweds.

Chinese wedding invitation, custom wedding cards

The Chinese characters on the inside of the invitation were perfect to die-cut the flowers. Sheer gold paper was used for the flower centers and leaves. A small red and gold sticker was perfect as a finishing touch on each flower. I added some sparkly gold paper to make the ‘vase’ for the flowers. Gold string on the vase and side border added a bit more sparkle. The symbol representing double happiness was a good accent for the vase.

custom Chinese wedding card made from the invitation, custom wedding cards,
Chinese wedding card made from invitation, custom Chinese wedding card

Another flower accented the inside of the card, which also included the beautiful red and gold paper. A simple ‘Congratulations’ message was printed, with room left for a personalized note.

I must thank a special magician, Ryan Kane, for giving me the opportunity to create this wedding card. He performed at the wedding reception and presented the couple with this personalized card.

Creating this custom wedding card was a delight, and I do wish the new bride and groom much happiness in their new life together!

Once again, I thank you for stopping by my blog. I hope you enjoy the different cards I create as much as I love sharing them with you!

(Ryan Kane is my son and a professional magician and entertainer based in New York. Another proud mom confession. 🙂 )

Enjoy your creative day! ~ Vickie

6 thoughts on “Chinese Wedding Invitation & Card

    1. Thank you so much! Creating wedding cards from invitations are my favorites. I appreciate you stopping by and taking the time to leave a nice compliment. Enjoy your creative day! ~ Vickie

  1. Rayner

    Hi Vickie,

    I was wondering if you could find out where Joe Pedro and Ana Lai got the cards? I’m hoping to get my hands on a few to send out as invites.

    Thanks

Leave a comment