A Little Trick for Die-Cut Users!

Hello!

I hope all of you are doing well today and are busy with your creative projects!

Now on to something fun! Creating! Many of you have worked with various die cuts and I would like to share a little trick I use to line them up with printed papers. I have a few die cuts that are ‘solid’, so you can’t see if you’re placing the die over the center of text or a pattern. My solution? I simply use the die to cut a piece of vellum to make a template. This die from Di-namics is one that I frequently use.

using die cuts, using vellum, lining up die cuts on patterned papers
You can see how I needed this die to line up evenly with my text. I simply place the vellum piece over my text, secure it with a piece of removable tape. When I place the die over the vellum and make sure it is lined up properly, I add another piece of tape to secure it when it goes through my Big Shot machine.

This same technique was used for the balloon die from Taylored Expressions. I wanted to make sure the card suits lined up to make my balloons for this card. I used the small hole from the Builder Owl punch from Stampin’Up to cut the smaller card suits I placed at the bottom of the card.

Since I wanted to highlight the text on the front of this card, I used red paper and cut two more of the same shape. I lined up the top and attached it to the greeting, then lined up the other at the bottom, careful to keep the same width on the border. This is a technique I use when I don’t have the slightly larger die to accent smaller cuts.

cards for men, Birthday cards, techniques for using  die cuts, using vellum, making greeting cards from playing cards
Birthday cards created from playing cards are very popular. It is great for guys, and gals too! You can see another birthday card I designed using playing cards here.

Thanks for stopping by for a visit!

Enjoy your creative day! ~~~ Vickie

7 thoughts on “A Little Trick for Die-Cut Users!

Leave a comment